Insurance Broker Failure to Procure: A $4.6M Coverage Gap
Reading Time: 4.5 min | Jurisdiction: Superior Court of Pennsylvania (2025) | Case Docket: Alvord-Polk, Inc. v. Strickler Agency, Inc. (No. 915 MDA 2024)
The Scenario
An application records the coverage a client wants. An issued policy records what the insurer provided. The agency needs a reliable way to reconcile the two, and explain any difference before a claim tests it.
In 2017, tooling manufacturer Alvord-Polk transitioned its commercial insurance program to Strickler Agency. Because the company moved inventory and machinery across multiple operating locations, the placement called for two fundamental commercial property protections:
- Blanket Coverage: Combining Business Personal Property (BPP) across scheduled locations under a single shared limit.
- Agreed Value Option: Suspending the policy’s standard commercial property coinsurance condition.
The agency approached Cincinnati Insurance Company. Cincinnati informed Strickler Agency that blanket agreed value was not available for the manufacturer’s Business Personal Property.
The agency nonetheless presented Alvord-Polk with an insurance proposal displaying blanket agreed value coverage for BPP. The policy was bound and issued without the agreed value option, leaving a standard 90% coinsurance condition in place.
During a 2018 account review, the agency delivered a schedule summary of the in-force program, but the presentation did not disclose or explain the deviation from the requested terms. The coverage discrepancy remained unresolved.
In November 2018, a fire destroyed the equipment and contents of Alvord-Polk’s facility in South Dakota. Because the applicable insurance limit across the blanket schedule fell below the contractually required percentage of covered property value at the time of loss, the insurer applied a coinsurance reduction to the claim, leaving Alvord-Polk with a $4.6 million shortfall. Alvord-Polk subsequently initiated a professional negligence action against Strickler Agency.
The Legal Autopsy & The Ruling
At trial in the Court of Common Pleas of Dauphin County (No. 2020-CV-02069-CV), the court did not send the preliminary questions of whether the broker owed and breached a standard of care to the jury. Instead, the trial judge entered a directed verdict against Strickler Agency strictly on duty and breach of duty, leaving proximate causation and the determination of damages to the jury.
Why did the court remove duty and breach from jury evaluation?
- The Defense Expert’s Critical Concessions: Under cross-examination, the agency’s own standard-of-care expert witness did not merely acknowledge an insurance broker’s established duty to procure requested terms or promptly give notice of an inability to obtain them. Crucially, the expert conceded that Strickler Agency breached that duty by failing to recognize or disclose the coverage deviation to the client.
- Documentary Evidence Left No Factual Dispute: Cincinnati had formally rejected blanket agreed value in writing, the broker presented a proposal promising those terms, and the agency produced no written communication alerting the insured to the omission before the fire occurred.
- Contributory Negligence Rejected on the Record: The trial court submitted proximate causation, damages, and the client’s alleged contributory negligence to the jury. On the specific evidentiary record of this case, the jury assigned zero contributory negligence to Alvord-Polk, determining that the insured’s failure to uncover the technical policy omission did not bar recovery in light of the broker’s failure to advise.
The jury assessed damages at exactly $4,600,000. On April 24, 2025, the Superior Court of Pennsylvania affirmed the judgment in full via a non-precedential memorandum decision (No. 915 MDA 2024). Further legal challenges were effectively concluded when the Pennsylvania Supreme Court denied Strickler Agency’s petition for allowance of appeal on September 9, 2025 (No. 265 MAL 2025).
Policy Mechanics: Coinsurance vs. Agreed Value
The following explanation uses ISO CP 00 10 10 12 to illustrate the mechanics. The issued policy and its endorsements control any actual claim.
The standard coinsurance condition (Section F.1) applies a penalty only in situations of underinsurance, specifically when the applicable limit carried is lower than the required percentage of covered property value at the time of loss. When the coinsurance threshold is fully satisfied, the calculation formula does not apply to increase the loss payment above the actual loss incurred. When a blanket limit applies, that valuation check evaluates the combined property value across all locations subject to that single limit.
This penalty formula reflects the adjusted loss amount before applying deductibles and policy limits. Under Section G.1 of CP 00 10, Agreed Value is an optional built-in coverage rather than a separate manuscript endorsement. It activates only when an entry appears on the Declarations page designating that specific category of property.
Agreed Value alters valuation conditions, but it does not remove all financial limits:
- Total recovery remains capped by the stated dollar limit of insurance.
- The policy deductible applies as stated.
- If the limit of insurance carried is less than the Agreed Value stated in the declarations, a proportional settlement calculation applies.
Under CP 00 10, coinsurance is reinstated if the Agreed Value expiration date shown in the declarations is not extended. The option applies until the earlier of that designated expiration date or policy expiration.
4 Operational & E&O Takeaways
- Audit the Entire Issued Form: Reconcile the initial application and carrier quote against the issued policy. If the policy does not confirm requested Agreed Value terms for the relevant property, escalate the discrepancy immediately and document how it is resolved and communicated to the client.
- Log Underwriting Declinations: When an underwriter rejects a requested endorsement or condition, log that rejection in the AMS with an assigned owner and completion deadline. Client-facing proposals must never be carried forward from unverified quotes.
- Document Alternatives in Writing: When an insurance broker’s failure to procure requested coverage is litigated, negligence standards govern. The agency needs a documented record explaining unavailable terms, the replacement conditions bound, and how a 90% coinsurance clause operates during a loss.
- Track Agreed Value Expiration Milestones: Because optional coverage provisions carry separate expiration dates on the declarations, renewal workflows must track them in advance. As an internal AgencyLedge operational benchmark, setting an AMS review reminder 75 days before the option’s expiration date gives account teams sufficient lead time to gather updated statements of values and prevent an unintentional reversion to standard coinsurance.
The Operational Reality for Agency Principals
In carrier dispute litigation, legal standards often require claimants to meet specific statutory thresholds to establish bad faith. In retail broker liability, however, the inquiry typically proceeds under established common law negligence principles.
When an agency presents a proposal promising terms that underwriting refused to write, the court does not examine malicious intent. An uncommunicated discrepancy between what was requested and what was bound creates severe operational exposure that can strain carrier relationships, complicate internal audits, and dampen buyer confidence during agency sale negotiations.
Could your team produce an audit trail for your last major commercial renewal showing where every deviation from the client’s original application was resolved and confirmed in writing?
Planning an Agency Sale or Market Exit?
Clean operational workflows, solid retention, and disciplined policy files attract qualified institutional and independent buyers. List your agency confidentially on AgencyLedge with zero platform fees.